In 2017, there was almost 25,000 complaints filed with the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing. Of the employment complaints made, 19% were related to age, 16% were related to disability, and 11% were related to engagement in protected activity. Discrimination is preventable. To bring these numbers lower, we as a community, must demand better training and we must hold people accountable for their actions.
• Children under 2 years of age shall ride in a rear-facing car seat unless the child weighs 40 or more pounds OR is 40 or more inches tall. The child shall be secured in a manner that complies with the height and weight limits specified by the manufacturer of the car seat. (California Vehicle Code Section 27360.)
• Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
• Children who are 8 years of age OR have reached 4’9” in height may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be secured by a safety belt. (California Vehicle Code Section 27363.)
• Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.
With warmer weather approaching, remember not to leave kids or pets locked in the car. Even if you only have to run into a store for a minute, don't leave your kids in the car.
In 2018, 52 children died in hot cars. It was the deadliest year on record in the past 20 years. Since 1998, almost 800 children have died from vehicular heatstroke; 24% occurred in employer parking lots while the parent or caregiver was at work. Parents and caregivers can act immediately to end these preventable deaths.
If you have an alarm, set it. So often we hear stories about people's homes getting burglarized. Many victims say they forgot to set their alarms. Although an alarm will not stop someone who is set on breaking into your home, it could be a great deterrent. If you have it, set it.
Copyright © 2019 Law Office of Bijan Darvish - All Rights Reserved.